Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join ASA
Latest News: ASA Members

ASA-sponsored Speaker at Rutgers Summer Institute for Diversity in Philosophy

Tuesday, February 16, 2016   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Julie Van Camp
Share |

The Board of Trustees of the American Society for Aesthetics has approved up to $2000 to support a speaker in aesthetics at the 19th Annual Rutgers Summer Institute for Diversity in Philosophy. The Institute, directed by Professor Howard McGary, will be held at Rutgers University July 10-17, 2016.

More information about the Institute is here.

Dr. Jane Forsey, Associate Professor of Philosophy at the University of Winnipeg, was the ASA-sponsored speaker for the 2015 Institute.

A call for applications to be the ASA sponsored speaker for 2016 has been announced:

The American Society for Aesthetics seeks applications to serve as a speaker on aesthetics at the 19th Annual Rutgers Summer Institute for Diversity in Philosophy, which will be held July 10-17, 2016. The ASA-sponsored speaker will attend the Institute for two days, give a 2-1/2 hour presentation (including a question and answer period), and take meals with the students. The Institute is a seven-day residential program designed to encourage undergraduate students from diverse backgrounds to consider careers in academic philosophy. About 15-20 students will be in attendance. The speaker will receive a $400 honorarium, plus travel, lodging, and meals at Rutgers.

Applicants to be the ASA speaker must be current members of the ASA. Applicants should send a current CV (or URL of a current CV) and a brief statement (no more than 500 words) of the proposed presentation. These should be sent by e-mail no later than March 8, 2016, to Julie Van Camp, Secretary-Treasurer at A decision by ASA on finalists is expected no later than March 15. The final speaker selection will be made by the Rutgers program.

The Call for Applications can also be found here.

more Meetings

7/6/2018 » 7/8/2018
ASA Rocky Mountain Division

7/9/2018 » 7/27/2018
Summer Seminar: Beauty and Why It Matters

Featured Members
Elizabeth CantalamessaWinner of the 2018 Outstanding Student Paper Prize
John KulvickiProgram Chair for 2019 ASA Annual Meeting

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal