Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join ASA
Photos: workshop on digital image analysis tools.
Share |

Making WAIVS! workshop introducing digital image analysis tools, at Fitchburg Art Museum, May 19, 2017

Photographer for all pictures: Catherine A. Buell.

Daniel Graham, Hobart William-Smith Psychology.

WAIVS project members, from left to right: RaghuRam Rangaraju a graduate student at Fitchburg State University; Ricky Sethi, assistant professor of computer science at Fitchburg State University; Catherine Buell, assistant professor of mathematics at Fitchburg State University; William Seeley, lecturer in philosophy at Bates College; and Jake Lee, undergraduate student at Fitchburg State University. On the far right is WAIVS collaborator Charlene Villaseñor-Black, a professor of art history at UCLA.

Ricky J. Sethi, Fitchburg State University, Computer Science.

Charlene Villasenor-Black, Professor of Ibero-American Art & Chicana/o Studies, UCLA, Art History.

John Kulvicki using his phone to access the WAIVS software and run image analyses! he's a natural Beta tester! Sitting next to him are from left to right: Jerry Baum, Lincoln Labs, MIT (Retired); Louis R. Antunes (our graduate student travel grant recipient - he just received his Ph.D. from a joint program at University of Kent and the Norwegian University of Science and Technology; and Jennifer Belfield who is an undergraduate in computer science at FSU.

Workshop participants John Garton of Clark University, Amy Schlegel, and Valerie Kinkade of Museum and Collector Resource, run workflows to analyze the artistic style of Albert Bierstadt's 1895 painting "The Morteratsch Glacier, Upper Engadine Valley, Pontresina," as WAIVS student Jake Lee looks on.

Fitchburg State University student Jake Lee shows the "Making WAIVS exhibit" at the Fitchburg Art Museum in Fitchburg, Massachusetts. Museum goers interact with workflows to analyze paintings.

more Meetings

7/6/2018 » 7/8/2018
ASA Rocky Mountain Division

7/9/2018 » 7/27/2018
Summer Seminar: Beauty and Why It Matters

Featured Members
Mary Wiseman Ms.Past chair of the Diversity Committee
Kenny WaldenWinner of the Inaugural Arthur Danto/American Society for Aesthetics Prize

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal